Flicker-Free LED Lighting and The Game of Thrones

One greatly under-appreciated health benefit of LED lights is that, because they run off a DC voltage, they flicker much less than traditional incandescent or fluorescent lights. Indeed, in some cases they don’t flicker at all.

Research into this subject is still quite limited, but it does seem to indicate that long-term exposure to flickering lights can cause a variety of ailments such as headaches and eye strain and lead to losses in productivity at work.

I was reminded of this over the weekend when I decided to “test” a lamp stand accessory for the Bask Blade by placing it next to me when reading the Game of Thrones. Under normal lighting conditions at home or in a hotel, I usually only manage to read about fifty pages before my eyes get tired and I give up for the night. But this time I raced through over hundred pages without noticing and only stopped when I was interrupted by a late night phone call.

I’m not claiming that my test was in any way scientific, but as a result I now make sure to use the lamp when I read before bedtime. Naturally, I could simply be enjoying my reading more because Games of Thrones is such a wonderful book, but I still have four more volumes to plow through before I can find out whether the lamp works equally well on other books.

This entry was posted in Applications. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

